Canada History

Canada History   timelines 
AskAHistorian    blog 


George Coles


Elections | Governor General | Supreme Courts | Parliament | Political Parties | Prime Ministers | Provinces  | Symbols


Prince Edward Island was named in 1799 after the 4th son of King George III who was based in Halifax as Commander in Chief or British North America
Flag Coat of Arms


PARVA SUB INGENTI (The small under the protection of the great)

Prince Edward Island: Government

The province of Prince Edward Island has a parliamentary form of government. The chief executive of Prince Edward Island is the lieutenant governor, who is appointed by the Canadian governor-general in council to serve a 5-year term. The lieutenant governor, representing the British crown, holds a position that is largely honorary. The premier, the leader of the majority party, is the actual head of the provincial government and presides over the executive council. The Legislative Assembly contains 27 seats, including those of the premier and the members of the executive council. Members of the legislature are popularly elected to a 5-year term; however, the lieutenant governor, on the advice of the premier, may call for an election before the term has been completed. The province of Prince Edward Island is represented by 4 senators appointed by the Canadian governor-general in council and by 4 members in the House of Commons popularly elected to serve terms of up to five years in the Canadian Parliament.

Article/Document/Material Source: